Daily Walrus - Helping People Help Animals

More on captive audiences… | February 2, 2008

After writing about having the attention of captive audiences through answering machines, I started thinking about other “captives” I have at the moment. One example would be the classes I teach at a couple universities in NJ.  Each week I have the attention of around 120 bright and smiling faces (unless they are sneaking text messages).  But while Professor Bob Torres from Vegan Freaks can get away with wearing t-shirts with vegan slogans in his Sociology classes, I don’t have tenure.  Plus, I try to keep it stylin’ in the classroom with my polyester ties and pleather shoes.

Though I lack the desire to wear short sleeves while I lecture, I make up for it with a big “vegan” sticker on my coffee mugs and water bottles. I also use a web-based course management software program called WebCT (some call it Blackboard) that allows me to post a picture of myself in the “Instructor Information” category. This is where I’ll sport the vegan t-shirt. It’s quiet and not very in-your-face, but every semester a few students from each class ask me about being vegan.  Then I get to spread the good word about cruelty-free eating to lots of attentive, smart, and curious minds (again, unless they are texting – can you tell I hate that?).

What captive audiences do you have? Do you have the opportunity to be in front of (or simply amongst) a group of people regularly? How can you make people take notice of animal issues? Let us know in the comments!

3 Comments »

  1. oh yes, i take every opportunity to inform the people in my little town in japan about being vegan. i incorporated it into my introduction speech when i first arrived. i remind them every time there is an event i have to go to that includes food. i even posted an english bulletin board for my students that has a vegan chocolate chip cookies recipe posted. during the holidays, when i was teaching them about thanksgiving and christmas dinner, i gave them a vegan pumpkin pie recipe. in addition to this, i am giving a presentation to a group (not sure how many people) in about three weeks about veganism (which you guys already know because i got jenny to mail me that book)! i am trying. 🙂

    Comment by nicole — February 2, 2008 @ 12:41 am

  2. you could show off your shoes from http://www.vegetarianshoesandbags.com/

    Comment by michelle — February 6, 2008 @ 5:35 am

  3. […] helped you spread a message of animal compassion here and […]

    Pingback by Goodbye February « Daily Walrus - Helping People Help Animals — March 8, 2008 @ 2:54 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

Hello - we are Jenny and Ryan, a couple living in Brooklyn, New York. We are both busy with school and work but try to take time to do something every day to make the world a better place for animals. Occasionally we may link to outside websites for additional resources, but we do not necessarily endorse all policies of these organizations. Despite the title of our blog, the focus is not only on walruses. So what's with the title? We named this blog after our cat, Wally, aka The Walrus. We are the proud parents of two cats (Wally and Tito) and one dog (Luigi).

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

